Day 1 was...um...interesting...
So here's the story:
On Saturday night, Shane and I watched "Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead" As soon as the movie was over, I cajoled Shane into taking me to the store RIGHT NOW so I could stock up on fruits and veg. I HAD to start TOMORROW. I had completely forgotten that "tomorrow" was Fast Sunday.
As a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints I fast
for 2 meals every first Sunday of the month. This is a beautiful time
for me, when I can grow closer to our Father in Heaven.
It was not however the smartest time to start a 10 day juice fast.
Fast forward to Sunday afternoon. I came home from church with a cranky making, low blood sugar head ache and a chubby-girl-where's-my-food attitude. I also came home to a glass of juice, not the Mormon-meat and-potatoes-with-jello-on-the-side meal I am used to after fasting.
While the juice was physically satisfying, it was not psychologically fulfilling.
Sunday night was emotionally difficult. Which is, I guess, the whole point of this fast. I am trying to change my mind about food as well as cleanse and heal my digestive track.
Day 2 was better.
I didn't often feel hungry but still thought about food all day. There was a constant monolog in my head about sticking to my juicing plan. I also started detoxing on day 2, which wasn't horrible or unexpected. A juicing side affect that I didn't anticipate is that I am very cold all the time.
I was able to do some housework and did walk 2 miles. But for the most part, I spent the day resting. My friend came to spend part of the day with me. It was nice to spend time with her, but I had very little energy for conversation.
I spent a lot of time in bed, both nights, thinking about what I would eat the next day. Now I'm wondering if this is a normal thing that I never noticed about myself. Do I really spend this much time thinking about food?
No comments:
Post a Comment